The Evil of The View-Master (& Thriller)

When I were little, one of the things that gave me nightmares was watching Michael Jacksons ‘Thriller’ in my View-Master.

Most of the images weren’t too scary for Mitton, but there was one that I always tried to skip by pressing down twice !

viewmaster thriller !

frighten !

John Landis directed the music video for Thriller, which still stands today amongst the best of all time. Even though I still can’t watch it without being very frightened, I acknowledge its genius. It was a triumph for music videos and a triumph for Michael Jackson. To make a music video like Thriller nowadays would just not happen ! Everybody is too lazy and unwilling to take the risks that Michael Jackson and the financial backers took. I think it pays to remember the times Michael Jackson was a phenomenon. He was incredible ! What happen ?

John Landis talks about the making of Thriller here.

I hope I can sleep soundly tonight,

Mittin

5 Comments

Filed under Music

5 responses to “The Evil of The View-Master (& Thriller)

  1. I miss my viewfinder. It always used to find me a delightful view. This article is tres interesting.

  2. romi41

    I loved the Thriller video; my older brother used to force me to watch it on the weekly countdown every week, for 8 weeks in a row…I must’ve only been 6 or 7…the psychological damage is ever-lasting…but a good video!

  3. you know that evil laugh that happens at the end of thriller. sometimes i hear that when im alone.

  4. mitts: you may think you’re alone, but you’re not really..

  5. that is inappropriate shenanigans. motar will not be pleased.